Coil height above the ground?

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
I couldn't tell ya.... I run with my coil scraping the grass, everything else I run it just barely above ground.

As close as ya can, all the time. The only time I lift up is sometimes to help identify an object that gives off the bell tone, a large target. Sometimes these are quarters just barely under the grass.

DaChief

Bronze Member
Sep 16, 2007
Middle Tennessee
Detector(s) used
-------(Water)------- Garrett Infinium (Relic and Coin) Minelab Sov. Elite
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been hunting for nearly 20 years now. I can tell you that there is a reason that they make coil covers for the bottom of the coil and that is because it is best to keep the coil as low to the ground as possible. You don't want to bang it into the ground but I slide it along the grass and vegetation when there is some available and when there are rocks or gravel involved, I try to stay just above them but tick them every now and then because it is clearly crucial to keep the detector as close to the ground as you can.

The higher your coil from the ground the lesser the depth. There are some instances where you may want to do that. For example, if you were hunting a field with lots of trash and you didn't have a small coil, you can make your larger coil work as a smaller coil by lifting it off the ground. This brings the tip of the cone of your transmitted signal into play thus giving you the same effect of a smaller coil. It is harder to control that way but you can do it. The remedy of course is to make sure you have a small coil for trashy areas.