Collecting in the snow

bowfin

Nov 9, 2008
Michigan
Anyone else not able to wait for the snow to melt before collecting? Any tips for snowy conditions? My only tip is to look under structures like bridges or bushes and trees for exposed ground or rock. I don't picture this working well in some areas. I'd think road cuts would be good too but there aren't really any rocky ones nearby. In my area it's going to get above freezing next week but I still thought this would be an interesting topic.

I'm new to serious rock collecting and have been mostly reading geology books and Michigan field guides while I wait for the snow to melt. Decided to give a park a try Wednesday for less than a half hour. Found what I think is unakite in some landscaping stone that was protected from the snow by bushes/trees. Under a big walking bridge/pier where there were limestone boulders I found a few stones with coral fossils and misc rocks. Wish I had brought a screw driver or chisel because they were frozen to the ground. besides those places I saw a few bare ground spots under trees but not much of interest. I'll post some pics later.

OP
OP
B

bowfin

Nov 9, 2008
Michigan
Wish it was even half that here.

Just got back from another outing. Seems to be a waste since there aren't rock outcroppings in my area. Found a few exposed sandy areas(The biggest on a hill where the park dumped sand when they cleaned the beach). Mostly found brown chert flakes and a few small nodules. Nothing big enough for knapping. A small red stone I found might be jasper(still need work on identifying). At least I'm getting exercise.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Eu_citzen

Gold Member
Sep 19, 2006
Sweden
Detector(s) used
White's V3, Minelab Explorer II & XP Deus.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Rock exposures are obvious, glacial till also if you had that in your area. I like to go looking for boulders and check them out.

Upvote 0

Tigger

Mar 6, 2011
N Central Fla
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest: