Colonial Finds from this past weekend and a early piece of Silver Jewlry????

HomeGuardDan

Bronze Member
Jul 15, 2011
Williamsburg, VA
🥇 Banner finds
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been a bit out of the loop the past couple of weeks –sadly that has affected my ability to get out and dig!

On 2/8/13 the College for which I work as an administratorcelebrated its’ 320[SUP]th[/SUP] Birthday! The College of William & Mary is a treasured artifact in her ownright – and something that rightly so deserves much celebration. With board meetings, galas, and events mytime has been sparse.

I celebrated a birthday of my own on Sunday, and while Icould not break away to dig all day as I typically do, I was able to get outand join Bill at the site we have been working. Due to cropping we no longer have access to the heart of the site, but didmanage to do some exploring with some success. We also managed to get a couple of hours in at a new site (where Billdug his silvers at yesterday, I really need to retire so I can get out with him– though just turning 31 this week that seems a long ways away). This site is particularly early, andproduced some large caliber round balls and much earlier buttons.

It also produced this interesting silver item. Sadly it is broken but am thinking it was somesort of an early piece of jewelry, any ideas?

Also pictured is an 18[SUP]th[/SUP] century small caulkingiron/chisel that came from the bottom of the pit Bill and I dug a couple ofweeks back.

My work life should slowly be beginning to return to some normalcy– and hopefully my digging time as well!

HH

Dan

Attachments

• SCWM21013.jpg
    SCWM21013.jpg
    200.2 KB · Views: 197
  • SC21013a.jpg
    SC21013a.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 183
  • SC21013b.jpg
    SC21013b.jpg
    139.3 KB · Views: 188
  • SC21013c.jpg
    SC21013c.jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 192
Upvote 8

WHADIFIND

Gold Member
Apr 9, 2012
South of the Mason-Dixon Line
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used