Colonial flat button found at a 1980s baseball field?

FreeBirdTim

Silver Member
Sep 24, 2013
Scituate, RI
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Colonial flat button found at a 1980's baseball field?

This sure looks like a colonial flat button to me. I'm no expert, but it's paper thin, brass (or maybe copper), has a broken off shank on the back and is very large. I found it six inches down at a baseball field that was built in the early 1980's. How is this possible?

I also found a 1920 wheat cent there a couple of weeks ago. That's not too unusual, but finding a colonial button there seems odd, to say the least.

What's your take on it? Is this really a 220 year old button or is it something else?

DSC02388.JPG DSC02390.JPG DSC02391.JPG

Upvote 0

Old Dude

Gold Member
Feb 20, 2013
Luzerne County, Pa
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Garrett ATPro, Garrett GTAx 500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I wish I could give an expert opinion, but since I have yet to find my first one, I will give you my novice opinion, lol. I checked your profile and since you are in RI, I see no reason why it might not be, even if found in a 1980's ball field. Since it was found at a reasonably shallow depth, it could have been in any fill dirt brought onto the site, or earth movers could have even scraped dirt from atop the find. Perhaps your site was a homestead or even a camp during the period. I hope the experts soon find this post and give you some credible opinions. I'd like to see how a novice did, lol. Merry Christmas to you.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ATpro5

Jan 4, 2013
SW Virginia
Detector(s) used
Whites Coinmaster,At Pro,Minelab Etrac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Definately A Colonial Flat Button! Neat To Think What Might Have Been There At One Time. Probably A Colonial Homestead! Hit That Place Hard.

Gunrunner61

Silver Member
Jan 12, 2011
Dalton,Ga.
Detector(s) used