Complete newbie here, have a few questions....

gmass22

Jan 3, 2005
I have been looking for a hobby that will get me out of the house and in the great outdoors for a while. I have often thought of MDing, but never really seriously enough to pursue it. I think I may give it a shot this spring. My questions:

What is a good MD for a newbie who wants a hobby to share with my son (4-1/2)?

Are there any toy or small MD's that my son could play with whilst we hunt?

I live in SE Tennessee and have a few local sites I would like to check out....

Thanks in advance for your help!

Upvote 0

OnionRings

Dec 15, 2004
Denver, Colorado
I was in the same situation last year.

This is what I did...

I bought a cheaper detector a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV it cost $100.00 bucks at Big Five sporting goods.
I took my kids to the park and while they played on the swings I was detecting.

I bought a cheap detector one to see if i liked it and wanted to continue doing it.

Question you must answer before you buy. What do you want ot find? modern clad jewlery old coins relices?
next ask yourself do you want a detector that is a turn on and go or one that has a learning cuve?

I choose the turn on and go and have been happy with it.

Let me know what you want to find and I will try to help.

Onion?

N

nicknyc

i'm in the same boat. no idea where to start, don't want to spend much more than $100 if i'm not sure if i'll keep up with it because the last time i md'd it was with the toy i had when i was a kid ( yes they make kid ones for like $22 :) ).

I'm most interested in old coins because coin collecting is a hobby that i've always had. . . but would like to not exclude general relic/jewelry finds ...

how is modern clad different from old coins as far as md'ing is concerned? is that based on the fact that every time one of you finds a real good old one its like 7"+ deep? or what the coins are made of?

i'm completely lost! lol

thanks for any help whatsoever in advance :)

Leon