Confidence Issue!

Phishfindr

Bronze Member
Apr 7, 2017
NEW ENGLAND
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Minelab Equinox 600, Garrett Pro Pointer AT Z-Lynk, Lesche digging tools, Pack Mule finds bag by Freeloader.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Have you ever lost confidence in your otherwise dependable detector? I'm relatively new to this glorious hobby, but I researched a lot before I bought. After getting the one I chose, it worked really well for 4 months. Lots and lots of finds. Nothing over the top, but lots of cool finds. And then it went haywire out of nowhere. (I purchased an inexpensive Plan B in a pinch for vacation, while it was in the shop, that turned out to be really sweet.)

A trip back to the factory, and the "All Clear" sign was given with a new coil and a new control pad. And then I get the ultimate permission last week on a very old and all but virgin site. I scored some really nice things, including my 1st silver and an 1800's button. But the signals are so different than what I've been used to. Weak, choppy, occasionally strong (like they used to be frequently) but ultimately confusing more times than not. Unless it's a solid tone, I get a lot of "garbled" tones to try to determine in my head before I decide to get down and dig. And I end up digging A LOT in very hot weather currently only to find junk.

I try to compensate for the usual suspects with sensitivity setting adjustments, discrimination, etc., but it doesn't seem to feel like it used to. Worse than that, I second guess a lot of signals now. I will dismiss a choppy signal as junk. I think that's costing me a lot of potential treasure! And the site is likely a huge opportunity.

Is it me??

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting