old_mikee

May 26, 2007
Burbank Ca.
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT; Minelab XTerra 70
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi All

I am fairly new to metal detecting and have a few questions related to detecting at the Ocean beach.

First off, I have a Whites MXT and I am not sure what coil would work best on beach. My two choices are: the stock round Eclipse 950, or the 6 x 9 oval Eclipse DD? With that question asked, are there more rewarding finds found in the wet sand or in the dry sand? Also, do I search in the Ground mode or in Salt mode on the dry sand.

We are going again on Sunday and I would like to try searching in the wet sand. I tried last week, searching on the salt setting, but I could not really get the detector to sound right, so I abandoned the effort until I can resolve the setting issues. I am hoping for some good advice from this forum..

Thanks in advance for your reply,

mikee

Upvote 0

Dixie Digger

Sep 11, 2006
Ga
Detector(s) used
Sovereign GT W/S12 Coil & Excal 1000 & Fisher CZ21 Cz20,Tesoro Tiger Shark Excal ll
i think its the nature of the detector.i think you will find it is very unstable in wet salt sand. but will do fine in the dry sand.

nudels

Jun 21, 2008
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Vantage AD-14, Tesoro Sand Shark
Y'know, when a detector says it has a "salt" setting, well by golly, it better work just fine in the salt, and not in a half-rear-end way.

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My jewelry finds are at least 95% in the wetsand/ water vs dry sand.

If you can't get in the water which is by far the best location, then you want to try to concentrate hunting the towel and chair lines. If you study the beach you see there are usually several lines where bathers concentrate and they usually run in a line.