CRH vs MD

Its not even close. Unless you dig up a huge cache or some other insanely valuable object detecting, CRH wins hands down. The amount of silver I found on my best single day CRHing absolutely crushes my lifetime detecting totals, and I've been detecting since around 1980.

I do find older and better quality coins with the detector, but nowhere near the quantity I find from CRH.

With that said, if for some reason I had to give up one or the other, it would be CRH. I'd much rather swing the detector as open rolls.

Not even close - CRH unless you are a pro at MD or very lucky. Both are fun though. This week I got $0.36 and an old toy car MD at the beach but it was sure nice hanging out there for a couple hours with my boy.

Maine_Jim

In a week I dig up about the same number of dimes as I find in rolls - (3 or 4 average). The other denominations like halves and quarters I dig up the same average as what I have been finding in rolls recently. Zip! Although yesterday I did score a couple in CWRs.

Apples and oranges. My second year dirtfishing I found close to 80 silvers, close to 200 total in three years. I've tied my best day with seven silvers. Dug Morgan and Peace dollars, Barber haves, Franklins, Barber quarters and lots of Barber dimes, and a seated.
Less silver in the dirt as the years go by, you really have to work at it, my favorite areas are really trashy, where other detectorists usually throw in the towel.
Oldest find - 1758 spanish reale, here in Mich. ffd

Sometimes it is quality, not quanity-- referring to MD, and sometimes it is quanity, not quality-- referring to CRH. I never had the interest to do metal detecting, but I think CRH is way better, otherwise I would be into MD'ing. hh all!

BuffaloBoy said:
Sometimes it is quality, not quanity-- referring to MD, and sometimes it is quanity, not quality-- referring to CRH. I never had the interest to do metal detecting, but I think CRH is way better, otherwise I would be into MD'ing. hh all!