Delta ??

circuit323

Greenie
May 23, 2012
Love my delta! I have tried to use the a1 and a2 all metal modes, but the areas I hunt have way too many iron targets. I don't feel the all metal modes give me enough feedback on what the targets could be. I am trying to use them more to learn the tones, but I'm not having much luck. I run mine on discriminate with a sensitivity at 8 if it is my first time in an area. I discriminate out basic iron(foil too if area is really trashy). I ONLY use the notch if I'm hunting an area with an over abundance of aluminum.
If your old yard is pretty clean, try the a1 or a2. They are very similar with a1 being more sensitive( for better and for worse). What I've read indicates a1 and a2 go deeper. I have yet to master them.

Auba14

Jun 17, 2015
Illinois
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Delta 4000, Tesoro Compadre, Ace 250.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Normally I hunt in the discrimination mode, sensitivity set to just below the point where it begins to chatter. Usually leave it "stock" and do not notch anything out. If I find a "good" target sometimes I'll switch over to either A1 or A2 just to see how it responds to the target. A1/A2 kind of remind me of the old style BFO type detectors. Once you got used to what they were telling you all of the sounds made sense. The house I live in was built in the 1890's but the grounds are so iron infested it is, for me, almost impossible to hunt it in A1 or A2. My daughters house is quite a bit newer and does not seem to have very much iron in the yard. Have not had much of a chance to hunt there yet but it seems that I can go a good bit without have the detector grunt at me every foot or so. Try them all, as nothing substitutes for actual "stick time". You will find out what works for your area and what will not. Hope you find a lot of good stuff. HH.......

Phantasman

Gold Member
Nov 24, 2006
NE Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Nokta Simplex, Land Ranger Pro, Quick Draw Pro, Deteknix XPointer