Destructive vs. Non-Destructive cleaning- AUG 05 Coins Mag. Article

Go Bills

Jul 7, 2005
NY
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Destructive vs. Non-Destructive cleaning- AUG '05 Coins Mag. Article

Hi y'all,
This is my first time posting and MD newbie, but I have collected coins since i was a child. I was reading an article in the Aug 2005 Coins mag (I'll have to double check that date) on cleaning methods. The author described 2 categories, Destructive vs. Non-Destructive cleaning. He went on to re-state some of the things I've read on the posts, such as rubbing with a soft cloth (that has picked up abrasives) or fingers is actually destructive, bc when viewed with a Lupe, scratch marks can be seen. He also stated that popular baking soda, and CLR and other type solvent are destructive because they take off a thin layer of metal that the coin was minted with.

As for non destructive methods, he listed these 3.

1. Water soak with non detergent soap
2. Acetone
3. Olive Oil soak

Which of these 3 methods works best for you? It was also noted to PAT coins dry with e soft cloth, not to rub. I guess it also comes down to why you collect, if you plan to someday sell or just enjoy your collection. I know that some coin grading agencies do not grade "cleaned" coins. But he did not state ( if i recall correctly) that non destructive coins would be graded by someone like PCGS or NGS.

WARNING I found this on the net regarding acetone

How can acetone affect my health?