Detecting in Cuba

robp

Greenie
Jan 19, 2007
Hi

I am new to this net and live in the UK, this is a great net and so pleased I found a link to it from the minelabowners.com site.

Beach detecting is my main interest and I go down the coast as often as is possible, one thing I try to do is plan holidays abroad that invove me with the Excalibur and a wet suit, my partner enjoys the sunbathing bit and snaffling any jewellery that takes her fancy, silver or gold she is not fussy.

It looks as though a trip is being planned later in the year to Cuba, has anyone any info on the laws governing beach detecting please.

Good luck to everyone in 2007, may the surf god be smiling.

Robp

Upvote 0

gold-digger

Jul 4, 2006
Gulf Coast, Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excals & Quattro
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Say Hello to Fiedel and Dezi.

Thats a 1st for me.

I dont think I heard of anyone wanting to go there. You cant get there from the states unless its humanitarian based.

Gypsy Heart

Gold Member
Nov 29, 2005
Ozarks
My girlfriends husband is the air traffic controller at Guantanamo Bay.
You can Fly to Cuba ...To take one, you must first obtain a license from the Treasury Department. You also need a visa from the Cubans, which you can get at the Cuban Interests Section in Washington, D.C. Bring a letter stating your purpose for traveling to Cuba, and a photocopy of your passport.

If you meet all the criteria, the easiest thing to do is contact a travel agent approved by the OFAC. Caribbean Family & Travel Services is the largest agency organizing flights between Miami and Cuba, representing about half of all flights through its charter company, C&T. Another authorized travel service provider is Tico Travel in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida (www.destinationcuba.com).
As of mid-March, daily flights from Miami to Havana cost $329 round trip. ( Airlines running flights originating from Miami require a five-day stay.