Detecting in State Parks

jeffmajer

Greenie
Aug 22, 2007
Hello, I am new to MD'ing and Treasurene. I have been doing a little research on detecting on public property in the state of Il. I found a little info others might be interested in. Here is a link to the Il dept of Nat resources website that lists the Il. state parks that allow detecting by permit only.

http://www.dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/programs/DayUse/metaldetect.htm

In addition I would appreciate it if anyone else has any info on the public property belonging to the different counties of Ill. I would appreciate if you posted here. That goes for any cities or towns that have restrictive legislation on the book.

Last but not least, if anyone out there wants to go detecting sometime drop me an email, I am in Chicago (NW Side) and have an open schedule so almost any day has the potential to be good for me.

Good Hunting!
Jeff

roundhat

Oct 22, 2007
Southern Illinois
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030
I detect in several state parks here in our area. one of which has produced 2 barber dimes (1900 and 1916) , a 1942 walking liberty half and a 1942 quarter. got the quarter a week ago. it was 5.5 inches deep. to get the permit is easy, just go in to the park office and fill out the paper... takes about 5 min. the permit is good for 1 yr and they also tell you what if any parts are off limits. if the park is a historical area no md'ing will be allowed.

rcasi44

Jul 24, 2006
NE Illinois
Hi Jeffmejer, Check before you drive a long way to a state park. I've hunted several state parks with permits, but, The list is not totally accurate. I've been refused a permit at one of the parks on the list. At Kankakee, which is on the list, they said no detecting. I showed them the list of state parks ( same page as yours) and several of my permits. The answer was still NO. Rob

morbiusandneo

Jun 16, 2007
Detector(s) used
Dowsing rods
rcasi44 said: