Dinosaur Tracks

Rock Rover

Tenderfoot
Aug 14, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello Folks,

I recently found a set of dinosaur tracks in Turners Falls, MA and I was wondering what to do to prepare them to make them more visible for presentation. They're pretty easy to see when lighted at the right angle, but I'd like to make them stand out a bit more without damaging them. Would you suggest using nail polish or something like it to highlight the tracks? If not, what would you suggest I do, if anything?

Thanks in advance for your input,

Rock Rover

:hello: Welcome to TNET!

I would suggest that you leave them as they are. How about some photo's?

Thanks for the welcome Old Digger.

I'll try to post some pics. I just borrowed my Dad's camera for that purpose, but you can only see the tracks with the lighting at a certain angle and I'm not a professional photographer so I'm not sure how to best capture them for all to see. That's one reason I'm asking how to better prep them. I went to a dinosaur track shop years ago and they used something like nail polish to highlight the tracks and make them stand out. I think highlighting them somehow would really help them to be more visible. Any ideas, OD?

Best listen to old digger. There may be laws in your area regulating things like that. Don't want to be showing your pics to other inmates...

Pics

Here's some pics --- DSCF0749.JPG DSCF0747.JPG

Last edited:
There's a partial track on the bottom-left, a complete track in the upper middle, and a right claw imprint on the upper-right. These are three toed tracks, about 3 1/2 inches long. Most likely made by a Grallator, the most common dinosaur track found in my area.

Last edited:
Track Outlines

Here is a very, very quick outline of the tracks. As I already mentioned these tracks are much more impressive in 3-D. Dinosaur Track Outlines (Smaller).jpg

Im no expert but i seen them before you highlighted it. [emoji2]