Double die dime?

jnicholes

Mar 11, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,

I have an interesting situation. I was looking through my loose change, when I came across a dime that appears to be double dyed. I have no experience in this area, so I would like some clarification. Here is a picture of the dime area that I suspect is double dyed.

20200126_154537_HDR.jpg

As you can see, the 8 in the year is hard to make out, even zoomed in.

I compared it to another dime of a similar year. Here is the dime I compared it to.

20200126_154528_HDR.jpg

What do you guys think? Is it double dyed?

I'm still new to collecting coins, so if it's not, it's okay. It's a learning experience.

Jared

So it's probable, then. Thanks for the input. I appreciate it. I'm putting it in my collection just in case it is double-dyed.

Upvote 0
a clear cropped full pic of both sides to examine please
there does appear to be doubling of the devices on the obverse....correct terminology...doubled die
great eye

Upvote 0
That would be a cool find take it to a coin shop most will look at it in hand for free if they charge go somewhere else .

Upvote 0
That would be a cool find take it to a coin shop most will look at it in hand for free if they charge go somewhere else .

I'll see if there's a coin shop here in town where I can take it.

Upvote 0
Thank you. You just made my day. Believe it or not, this is the first error in a coin I've ever found.

It's going into the collection with my Eisenhower dollar, my Susan B Anthony dollar, and my other cool coins.

Jared

Upvote 0
just letting you all know that I met a coin expert. He's helping me out with figuring out the dime. I'll let you all know what he says.

Upvote 0
Well, it's not double died. That's what the coin expert just told me. I apologize for getting everyone excited.

Upvote 0