Raver

Greenie
Jul 13, 2015
Lake Tahoe
Detector(s) used
BH 1100 // SS II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
DSCN5318.JPG DSCN5319.JPG I am in a freshwater lake swingin' the BH 1100. Whether the black sand is wet or dry, it drives my MD insane w/false signals. The black sand is anywhere from 6" to 4". I have turned my sensitivity down as far as it will go....to no avail. Somehow, through some kind of miracle (and the chaotic constant false signals) I pulled a mercury and a '43 quarter. I am a newbie.....need help to negate this black sand...anyone?:BangHead:............PS: here are two pictures of the sand.

Last edited:

luvsdux

Bronze Member
May 16, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Multiple Tesoros and Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
One of the conditions where pulse inductions or multiple frequency detectors shine. Two things you might try are setting the decriminalization high enough to eliminate the black sand and/or try a smaller coil that won't be reading so much of it. Or course these solutions may miss some targets and get less depth, but may be a help.
luvsdux

frankie

Feb 7, 2010
mass
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ctx 3030 deus excalibur sovern but used gp4500 sd2200 whites nd a few fisher. Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting