Error Quarter - Worth it or not?

Kamyu

Oct 25, 2011
Primary Interest:
Other
Found this while browsing some foreign country auction sites as I do from time to time. Anyways, came across this. Think it's real. Not entirely certain. :P But they are asking for roughly $100 for it. Seems a bit pricy imo but I don't know errors that well. Thoughts? It appears to be a nice error though.

Attachments

• quarterF.jpg
    quarterF.jpg
    23 KB · Views: 2,042
  • quarterB.jpg
    quarterB.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 2,014

TheRockDoc

May 28, 2011
Something about it doesnt look right to me, just my two cents, I am by no means an expert.

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I'd call it a 'broadstrike' error: $15.
Some may push the definition and call it an 'off center' error. If it were, it would retail for about $60. But to be an 'off center' error 20% to 60% of the design should be missing. If you really want the coin, I suggest you do some research first: Take a look at pp. 405/6 in the 2012 Official Red Book (retail values), then haggle with the dealer.
Don.......

ckrakowski

May 7, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
TheRockDoc said:
Something about it doesnt look right to me, just my two cents, I am by no means an expert.

i agree i just can not put my finger on it.

lazooro

Sep 27, 2008
Sezana
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, TESORO TEJON
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice one but i would rather buy some old silver coins for 100$.... :icon_scratch:

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
The "odd thing" everyone seems to be referring to here is that the reverse has been rotated 45 degrees from where it should be, thus giving this "odd" appearance.

I don't know enough to give an opinion on value for this error.

jasper62

Feb 8, 2009
Georgia
Detector(s) used