eyeballed intact clay artifact. (opinions please)

Zodiacdiverdave

Silver Member
Mar 18, 2011
The North Atlantic Ocean
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, AT Pro, Sea Hunter II, JW Fisher Proton Magnatometer, Shovel, Hammer and chisel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Interesting finds indeed, both sets of these bowls seam to be crudely made which leads me to believe they are fairly old. Even cheaply produce items these days are made to a higher standard just for the marketing aspect of the item. Jason, yours also have what appears to be some white patina or some sort of coral growth on it from being exposed to the sea, which would also indicate that it is an older piece. I am no expert on these but I think that these are oil lamps and were stacked on board for use while in port or during calm seas.
Does any one know of similar items being found on Spanish or Portuguese shipwreck sites?
Great finds for sure.
ZDD

OP
OP
GatorBoy

GatorBoy

Gold Member
May 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This one was recovered at the bottom of the South China Sea on the wreck of the "Tek Sing" a Chinese vessel.
I also read that these were set in a holder that was hung to " dangle" so they would keep their level aboard ship.

ForumRunner_20131120_221840.png

ForumRunner_20131120_222217.png

Last edited:

Trez

May 10, 2006
Treasure Coast (Vero Beach) to Sebastian
Detector(s) used
Sov Elite, CZ20, Minelab Sovereign XS, Explorer II, My eyeballs to bloody fingers have done me well also.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Gator,
Local Haitian Voodoo?
More common than you would expect and we have quite a few Haitian in that area and they are also lots on the west coast in that Tampa area by Jason.
Seeker mentioned ceramonial bowls.
with the burned edges...lit at low tide and extinguished with the imcoming tide...someone wanted somebody to have some bad Mojo. I will ask my Haitian friends today if they can ID if this be the case.

Last edited:
OP
OP
GatorBoy

GatorBoy