F75 or AT Pro?

rmm911

Sep 18, 2015
Charleston, SC
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am retired now and have the time to do some things that I would like to do. I live in Charleston, SC and am interested in learning more about detecting. I have no experience, I am a beginner. I have been reading a lot but I am ready to move forward.

I have been reading about the Fisher F75 and the Garrett AT Pro. I believe that I have narrowed my focus down to these two machines. As is the case with just about anything, the reviews I see are varied. I am aware of the price difference but I am more interested in knowing whether the F75 is worth the extra cost? If it is, I don't have a problem paying a little more. That said, I also can't afford to be wasting my money.

I have seen different claims about what each machine can do but I expect that either machine can do what I will need it to do, at least for now. I guess I am more concerned about quality. Is the quality of the F75 worth the extra money?
Is it even fair to compare these two machines or does Garrett have a model that is closer in comparison to the F75?
Is the F75 made in the USA?

I read comments about the learning curve being greater for the F75 than the AT Pro. Some even said "the F75 is not for beginners".
I am not technically challenged but I remember I once bought a very nice telescope that was so complicated, I became discouraged and ended up selling it.
I have also wasted money on something cheaper only to later wish I had bought the better and more expensive item.

I will most likely end up using my detector at the beach but I don't want to be confined to just the beach. I would like to search for older things as well.

I live close to Folly Beach, which is periodically renourished with several feet of sand. I don't know how that affects targets but aside from recently lost items, it makes me wonder what to expect.