field detecting question

sathmcnugent

May 2, 2008
I have a question. Would detecting a farm field thats been farmed since the 1860's -1870's be worth detecing? I guess the house was built in 1874 there is an IH penny we found in the basement that was inserted in small cement block thats cemented to the floor. The house is my grandfathers which has been in the family since 1937. So far I detected about a 20 yard by 20 yard area and didnt even get a "hit". However the field is probably 500 yards long by 150-200 yards wide im guessing. Sound like a good place to go over seriously or just skim it? Also does anyone know any good techniques for field detecting? I am new with working on a field. Thanks for any and all opinions. S.M.

Upvote 0

bazinga

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2005
High Five!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Was there ever a building/home in the farm field itself? Any potential old roads going through the field?

Personally, I would be searching for something that had an old house on it. I would probably get exhausted hunting a field and not getting any signals. There is nothing worse than hunting for a while in an empty field, getting an awesome signal, and finding a clad quarter.

Others might disagree with me, but I would try to hunt other spots first.

prolab69

Bronze Member
Oct 8, 2007
in the stix of NY
Detector(s) used
Whites Eagle Spectrum, Fisher CZ-3D
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Down the road from my house is a hay field im waiting on, it just needs to be plowed. Its a flip of the coin, depends on the history of the area really. Ill try to cherry pick it first and see what pops up, I found an 1812 LC in my back yard, so who knows whats in the hay field a block away. Some guys on here have a lot of luck in the fields.
Pro-

Roger Mn.

Silver Member
Aug 18, 2007
Rochester,Minnesota
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting