Finds with my new Ace250

mountainplayer

Oct 10, 2006
Way Northern California
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 & Minelab EX2
Hi all. This is my first post.

I'm a newbie to metal detecting, but not to this site. You folks got me going with all of your great finds.

Just received an Ace250 three days ago. Right away, I've had luck finding pennies at 2-5" in my front yard. Also found that sprinkler attachment that I've been missing.

Last night, I went to a site near town (and a major river) that was a late 1800's railroad depot. No trace of it is left, not even old foundations, so I used advice I got from this site and looked for flat areas overlooking the river.
Didn't find the coins I was hoping to find, but to my amazement found what I think is a square nail. The pics show some of the clad from my front yard as well as the nail.

Detail pic of the nail is after I broke at least 3/4" off of it trying to jiggle it around for best light. Hope you can see how the layers are separating.

I'm hoping that you'll share some of your expertise with me and let me know if this nail matches with the late 1800's time period of the site. Depth was around 4-5".

Attachments

• finds 10-11-06 001.jpg
    finds 10-11-06 001.jpg
    34.7 KB · Views: 617
Upvote 0

Noodle

Bronze Member
Jul 20, 2005
N Louisiana
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Hey Mountainplayer,
I don't know much about dating a square nail, but I commend you on your hunting! To me, if it's square, it's OLD. The quality of it may have to do with the environment it's been trapped in for 50-200 years.

You've gotten off to a great start and I wish you MUCH luck. You've just gotten started. The giant has been awakened! Wait 'til you find those first coins. The older, the better. Silver. :D Gold. ;D Pull-tabs.. >:(

Keep us posted! We're always willing to give encouragement and share knowledge. (I don't have any ... knowledge, that is ... but I'm full of encouragement!)

- Noodle

OP
OP
mountainplayer

mountainplayer

Oct 10, 2006