Finnish Winter War Medal? Is it Real?

chbingle

Greenie
Dec 29, 2016
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I recently purchased a Finnish Winter War medal off of the internet and was wondering if it is indeed authentic or just a replica. I'm a novice when it comes to collecting medals but it was a very cheap find so I decided to take a shot in the dark on it. All I know is that the medal is from Finland and was awarded to soldiers who fought against the Soviets in 1939. Im a little on the fence about whether its authentic though as the ribbon seems new (though it could be a replacement ribbon to an authentic medal I suppose) and the medal itself just seems to be a little odd. I don't even know how so but something seems off, but maybe im just paranoid when it comes to collecting medals :tongue3: The medal is magnetic if that helps determine its authenticity, any help or additional details on the medal would be much appreciated, thanks!

IMG_4680.JPG IMG_4683.JPG

Sorry the pictures are low quality and flipped, I have no idea why that happens sometimes :sadsmiley:

Retired Fire

Dec 29, 2016
Charlotte, NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 400, 5"x8" coils for both. Whites PinPointer.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think it is real. I found a couple of examples on Google and all the features match perfectly. I think the ribbon is new but it might have just been stored in a dark dry place to preserve it. 195c75733c6e693a7f05449f3bf28035.jpg

Upvote 0

kcm

Gold Member
Feb 29, 2016
NW Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
Other