Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
This is just a first impression review. I have been detecting for about four years now and have used many detectors, but only feel "a bit expert" with a few. I want to do a more comprehensive review of the Ace 250, but only after I've put in a couple of hundred hours with it.

For comparison's sake, my primary land hunting detector has been the Tesoro Compadre, which I still own and love. :love10:

What I was looking for was a smaller budget detector to use at competition hunts and for straight coin shooting during those miserable summer months when I really don't feel like digging pull tabs all day. I was steered towards the 250.

I have included a photo of my first hunt below. This is the result of about two hours hunting. Like an idiot, I pinched a nerve in my back and kept on hunting, so I have been in pretty miserable shape all week (and can't hunt this weekend; lesson learned!). But enough of my whining.

I bought the Sports Package which came with the 6x9 and 9x12 coils, but I only used the stock 6x9 coil for this hunt. I also hunted only in COINS mode.

The first thing I noticed was that the Ace 250 was definitely heavier than my Compadre, but the weight was balanced so well, my arms did not tire at all. So there is no weight problem to the 250.

So far as the bell tones are concerned, they didn't bother me in the slightest and I like the fact that the 250 had three levels of tones. That high tone is great for coin hunters! The volume adjustable headphones that came with the Sports Package were very comfortable and very helpful and I highly recommend getting a pair! :icon_thumleft:

As to the performance: