First post..curious shipwrecks?

ou8acracker2

Apr 5, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good afternoon everyone,

I have just joined this forum after browsing it quite often. Im a soon to graduate geologist but am taking a year or two off to locate wrecks as I have done much research in my 5 years of college...when education wasnt interfering with my real learning, I did other research haha
I found two legends and I havent been able to find anything about them..

I am from the Cocoa Beach area and have been all of my life and went to school in southern florida and havent heard a single thing on either of these..they go as follows

1)The area south of the Hillsboro Inlet to the Pompano Beach Pier has yielded artifacts over the years. Cob coins and a 17th-century Spanish cannon have been found here. There are many stories of gold and silver coins having been found here in the 1950's. The coins may have come from one of the 1715 Fleet vessels, or possibly from a vessel that had salvaged the fleet and was returning to Havana. Recently a dredge at the inlet has dredged up coins from the 1715 period.

2) Boca Raton, located south of Palm Beach, is the site of two separate treasures. Blackbeard buried $2,000 in casks near the Boca Raton Inlet. These casks may be in submerged caverns. When a Spanish galleon was wrecked near here, the surviving seamen saved a large chest and buried it on the beach at Boca Raton."

old man

Bronze Member
Aug 12, 2003
East Coast
Good afternoon everyone,

I have just joined this forum after browsing it quite often. Im a soon to graduate geologist but am taking a year or two off to locate wrecks as I have done much research in my 5 years of college...when education wasnt interfering with my real learning, I did other research haha
I found two legends and I havent been able to find anything about them..