First Post

BudP

Sep 19, 2005
OR
Detector(s) used
Minelab XT17000/Explorer XS/Exp SE Pro
Hello Fellas (Gals?)

I registered here about a week ago and have been lurking since. I don't argue worth a dime and did not see any sense in participating even though I am very interested in learning to dowse. It seems the moderator has had the, proverbial, 'last straw' laid upon his back so... perhaps Dowsing will be mentioned more often.

Having said that....

I am a prospector, treasure hunter and dreamer.... (not neccessarily in that order). I have only one exposure to a 'Dowser'. About six years ago I met a fella who had two mining claims. He was also a well driller by trade and had made a good living at it. Both water and gold were found by dowsing. I made an effort to get close enough to him to be invited to metal detect for gold on his claims. I keep what I find.

The claims are just above an old hydraulic site in SW Oregon. The gold is coarse and heavy with quartz inclisions. My biggest, so far, is 431 grains. The old boy who owns the claims doesn't metal detect. He has a back-hoe and trommel with long sluices. He thinks I'm doing it the hard way. His house is full of containers of gold that prove he is doing something right.

A couple years after we met we were sitting on his back porch yakking and the subject of 'Dowsing' came up....Understand that this old man is extremely onery with a point of view and an opinion that are rock-solid, when he isn't completely closed-mouthed. Read; Hard-headed and set in his ways. He is also good-hearted and has a sense of humor from Heaven. Anyway...He pulls out a huge nugget on a chain and hands it to me...wants to see if I 'have the power'. He gave instructions and let me try to find a jar of gold he had buried in the yard. Finally losing patience, he took back his 'pendulum' and let me know I was a loser and should stick to a detector.