First time CRH a full Box (Kennedys)...

blindbug

Oct 16, 2012
Louisville, KY
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First time CRH a full Box (Kennedy's)...

My normal procedure for CRHing is to go into the bank and see if they have any CWRs on hand that came in since my last visit. I have (2) tellers who regularly keep an eye out for me (which is great) and let me know when items come in. I'm REALLY new to CRHing, and almost all coins in my collection came from everyday change finds and luck. However, the other day I went into the bank and the teller informed me that they had accidentally ordered a $500 box of Halves and they would be sending back the next week. I asked about the possibility of searching before they do, and she said it's possible without a fee! So I took the chance:

20140130_170724.jpg

I ended up with $560 in halves, from Brinks (I know, I know). The results: SKUNKED. :tongue3:

What I noticed right away was all the hunter's marks on the coins... at least 20 of them in this box had a mark on them of some sort. I face checked everything... and if nothing else I was able to fill in a Whitman's folder from 1971-2000. I did a semi-check for the 1974 DDO, and for errors, but found none. Better luck next time, perhaps?

I don't have a dump bank, and don't really know the procedure for dumping, so I probably won't get into boxes as a normal activity just yet. However, that being said, I can see the thrill in it, and understand the temptation to try to hunt these. Any tips on getting a good box to hunt?

Upvote 0

Iamrussell

Bronze Member
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Any tips on getting a good box to hunt?

That has to be THE single best question ever asked here

-------------------------------------
just keep stacking, just keep stacking, stacking stacking stacking

Iamrussell

Bronze Member
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting