First try out with the new-to-me Excal 800.

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I got my old Excal from Mel Parker yesterday, it was really a nice piece, seems to be hardly used. I have a Whites Surfmaster PI that is at least as old, and only used in saltwater, and you can tell my PI is worse for wear. But I assume it came from inland, and never saw saltwater. Anyway, I charged the battery last night, and took it in the back yard. I had the thin tiny gold ring I found 2 weeks ago, a clad dime, a copper penny, and aluminum nail, a stainless screw, a nickel, and a 1" steel drywall screw. I found an area that has no detectable targets, and laid them down one at a time. The gold ring definetly had a different sound, as did the nickel. Maybe the stainless screw too, but the others had a different sound. The steel screw had no sound, actually the threshold sound was there, but no change. Then I went to the beach-Lido Beach. Its near me, and I had been there 2 weeks prior, and found lots of junk, that gold ring and a couple pennies and a nickel. First hit I got today was an old coke bottle top-steel. It had a different sound, wop-weee real high. Dug it and steel bottle top, that was with sens at 1-highest. Walked 20' and same sound and yes another bottle cap. Then a 1979 penny, copper, different sound, but not a gold ring sound. Then a quiet, no thresh hold, and then when moved off the threshold was back. Dug it and a piece of iron wire from a crab trap. Then a few pieces of can slaw from the dredge pumping the beach. Then more silences from iron, one large, made a pop. Then a mylar piece, and a condom wrapper. Then on the way back to the car I hit several silences, and did not dig. Gettting it, but really want to fig