Flake Tools

bean man

Sep 2, 2006
Central Iowa
Just some of the typical junk we find in our creeks. The brown chert is what we see the most of.

P1010378.jpg

Upvote 0
Wow! I am very new to this and have been hunting creeks near my house. I find tons of things that look like this but am never sure that they are tools. is there a trick to identifying them? I will post a bunch of stuff that I found today... see what you think.

If your area had a lot of Indian activity, then your creek is probably full of this kind of stuff. I believe a lot of hide and food processing, was done at the creek. Look for the right material and worked edges. Thanks for the reply.

Thanks for the response. I just posted my creek finds for today....inspired by your post. here are some of the things that I found. I wonder if a few might be tools. Some are just cool rocks for sure. What do you think?

Attachments

• Misc1.jpg
    Misc1.jpg
    42.7 KB · Views: 775
  • Misc2.jpg
    Misc2.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 797
  • Misc3.jpg
    Misc3.jpg
    50.3 KB · Views: 710
Looks like you have some possible perform points and scrapers. Do the bigger pieces have flat edges and a blade edge?

Well..... here is one of them up close. I am using a cell phone camera, so the quality is lacking. The edge is pretty darn sharp. Also... what is a preform? Is that a piece of rock that was in the process of being made into an arrowhead? Thanks.

Attachments

• scraper edge.jpg
    scraper edge.jpg
    40.1 KB · Views: 711
  • scraper edge2.jpg
    scraper edge2.jpg
    16.1 KB · Views: 686
  • scraper side.jpg
    scraper side.jpg
    15.5 KB · Views: 694
Very cool! It is soooooo exciting and fun to look for this kind of thing. I pick up everything that may be something haha. I get them home and then take a closer look. I am happy that I kept these. Thanks again.