Florida hunting -need new detector

DetectorOCD

Sep 22, 2010
Dallastown, PA
Detector(s) used
TESORO!
Hey guys,
I'm from PA and the nearest beach from me is hours away. I am planning on relocating to south Florida around Cape Coral later this year. I am a coinshooter up here, but obviously I am going to be jewellery hunting along the coast. Could I get by with a Sand Shark on these beaches or is there heavy iron?

Thanks! I can't wait to start a new life in sunny Florida!

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have never hunted the Cape Coral area so I have no experience with Iron there. I would assume though that there isn't much iron on the beaches except in the way of hair pins which drive a Pulse crazy. The Sand Shark is a great pulse detector and very deep which is what you want where sand covers everything. If you get a Sand Shark, get the larger coil for it. If not going in the water the best unit is the Sov GT in my opinion because of the disc abilities and depth. :thumbsup:

ron lord

Bronze Member
Apr 2, 2007
Zephyrhills Fl
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
excel 1000 with 8 inch coil, Garrett AT MAX and a silver U MAX
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Everyone here uses Excal 1000. I live 40 miles south of the cape.

pat-tekker-cat

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2011
S. Fl.
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett, Tesoro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
ron lord said:
Everyone here uses Excal 1000. I live 40 miles south of the cape.
Hey ron, always good to see you!