Florida Shipwrecks

K

Kev

HI everyone

I am a complete newbie but would like to start researching the Florida shipwrecks. The 1715 and 1733 fleets are the most interesting to me. Can anyone recommend any books or what are the best/most up to date books? I plan to eventually go out and dive the wrecks - but research must come first. Are there any other promising wrecks along the Florida, Alabama and Mississippi coasts?

Also any comments on the Florida salvage laws would be helpful. From some of the post I have read they are a bear to deal with.

Thanks Guys!

Jimi D Pirate

Oct 28, 2004
Orlando, Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000 + AQUA PULSE
Hi Kev,
Bob "Frogfoot" Weller has quite a few books out that will bring you up to speed. I just finished reading "The DreamWeaver" a biography he wrote on Mel Fisher. " Galleon Hunt" is about the life story of Art McKee considered the "Grandfather" of salvage in the Florida Keys? "Galleon Alley" he talks about all the dives he and others have done on the 1733 fleet. "Shipwrecks near Wabasso Beach" is another one that list the locations of most of the 1715 wrecks, as well as others, (five have never been found). He relates the history behind each shipwreck.? A lot of information in all his books and yes treasure is still there!. There are many other great authors that have written many books about the subject. These are just a few that I have recently read.
Regards
Jimi

Jimi D Pirate

Oct 28, 2004
Orlando, Florida
Detector(s) used