Florida Underwater Hunting Question - Moving Sand?

Southernmost

Jun 20, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is it legal to move sand underwater in the Florida Keys? Say with a pump or some type of assembly.. I am simply an antique bottle hunter, that would like to use some type of pump assembly to move sand underwater to expose bottles. The area that I want to hunt is not a designated historical wreck site, but within a few hundred feet from an outer Island. It would also fall into the Florida Keys Marine Sanctuary, as all of the Keys surrounding waters are within the blanket of this sanctuary (up to a 3 miles off shore). I am fairly new to antique bottle hunting and would like to know where I stand with rules within the Keys surrounding waters. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

• KEYS SANC.jpg
    KEYS SANC.jpg
    107.8 KB · Views: 290

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Well, I'm sure if you asked enough of the right people, you can always find someone to tell you that you can't so much as pick up a single seashell (lest you fall afoul of "collecting and harvesting" rules). But as you can deduce: No one *really* cares if you pick up a seashell. As for mechanical means (dredge, or pump, etc...), I suppose if you did it in front of a crowded beach, and stirred up sands enough to make a muddy/brown-water mess, in front of life-guard towers and swimmers, well, then go figure. Someone's gonna gripe.