Frequency and Depth ??

kando

Nov 14, 2008
,U.S.A. almost in Canada
Detector(s) used
....Tesoro conquistador , minelab sovereign
Now i hear that the higher frequency like 15 , 17 kHz ect will not go as deep as the lower ones like 3 or 7 kHz........... but Garrett and fisher and other ones with the higher frequency say they get as much depth as the lower ones average 8 inches could be 10 or 11 inches is that really possiable ???

Upvote 0

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
To further add to the confusion, I have been told (and I'm no electrical engineer) that finding gold has less to do with the frequency and more to do with how the circuitry in the detector processes that frequency.

So in theory, you could have a 4 kHz machine that hits great on gold.

I'll leave it to someone smarter than me to explain that one.

Keppy

Gold Member
Nov 19, 2006
N.E. Ohio on lake Erie
Detector(s) used
** WHAT ONE I FEEL LIKE ON HUNTING DAY *****
Primary Interest:
Other
Smudge said:
To further add to the confusion, I have been told (and I'm no electrical engineer) that finding gold has less to do with the frequency and more to do with how the circuitry in the detector processes that frequency.

So in theory, you could have a 4 kHz machine that hits great on gold.

I'll leave it to someone smarter than me to explain that one.
Could that be the detector makers are not giveing us the truth . Just so they can sell more & different models of detectors........... I would like to see some answers on this Question myself...................

Attachments

• DesperateQuestions.jpg
    DesperateQuestions.jpg
    13 KB · Views: 873

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Keppy,

Whatever you do, don't change that avatar.

Keppy

Gold Member
Nov 19, 2006
N.E. Ohio on lake Erie
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest: