Freshly addicted rookie treasure hunter! I need advice from you vets!

SeattleHistoryNut

Dec 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I have caught the bug. Addicted. I am a graduating senior History major with an emphasis on U.S. history and have always loved artifacts and relics! I recently went detecting with a friend and found a 1964 silver dime! That was it for me, I want more! The thrill I got from unearthing just a small piece of silver was overwhelming. I want to get my first detector! And I would greatly appreciate your advice/recommendations on what would be good to start with as a beginner, work well, and not break the bank. (Is that possible? Seeing as i'm a broke college student. . .) Any help would benefit me greatly and be even more greatly appreciated!
-Trevor

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
not knowing what will "Break your Bank"

I would start with a Garrett 250,
which I Believe you can pick up for around $200,
or if that's too much Check into the Bounty Hunters,
Or try to buy used.

OP
OP
S

SeattleHistoryNut

Dec 11, 2011
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
jeff of pa said:
not knowing what will "Break your Bank"

I would start with a Garrett 250,
which I Believe you can pick up for around $200,
or if that's too much Check into the Bounty Hunters,
Or try to buy used.
Awesome! Thank you!

kayden

Bronze Member
Apr 24, 2011
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Ace250,AT Pro & Garrett Propointer!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
SeattleHistoryNut said: