From The Past- Superman Belt Buckle

Dimeman

Bronze Member
Jan 16, 2007
Houston,TX
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro Fisher F5
When I got my first detector a Relco Frontiersman, from the Relco factory which was a half of a block from my house in Houston at the time, I wanted to find lots of buried treasure.

This was in either 1969 or 1970 and I had been collecting coins since before I was 12 years old. I got the detector to try and find some old coins that were lost and had seen the ads in Popular Science, Popular Mechanics and I wanted to get some of the buried treasure for myself.
I had found a couple of wheat pennies, a Mercury dime and some nails. I thought what a great ??start....where is the good treasure???

As I was searching along the edge of the sidewalk in front of the house I got a real load long buzz. ( If anyone has searched with a BFO detector they know what I am talking about).
Digging down what seemed to be a foot, but was probably 4 inches, I get this item.
A Superman Belt Buckle from a Superman costume. This was from the old 1950's TV show and probably was in the ground about 10 years...maybe longer, at the time I dug it up.
A few years later the neighbors next door had some kind of party and had a photo albumn out with pictures of the kids. One picture had one of the kids dressed up for Holloween, in....you guessed it.... a Superman costume. Of course I didn't say anything....... :P :P

This is one of my most prized possesions from detecting. No, it's not worth alot but was my first "relic" find and a good find to me.

How about it guys and gals..........what is your "From The Past" story from many, or a few years ago???

I am sure there are some pretty interesting items or coins you have found. Come on .....let's see some of those old stories.

Attachments

• Sbuckle.jpg
    Sbuckle.jpg
    59.4 KB · Views: 597
Upvote 0

romeo-1

Gold Member
Jul 29, 2005
Romeotopia
🥇 Banner finds
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting