Frustrated. Any tips?

rakoom2002

Tenderfoot
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, I'm in Oregon and decided to go down to the coast for today and then spending the night and going out again tomorrow (only days not raining for a while). I've never detected at the beach before so I'm new to it in a sense. We haven't really found anything notable. I have a garret ace 250 and had it on jewellery but wasn't getting anything so switched to all metal and was getting only junk. I switched back to jewelry and walked away at from the water towards a large embankment were people sit. I was getting good signals for coins and jewellery but was still only getting like nails, screws and pieces of metal. The beaches aren't super crowded here like California or new jersey but do you recommend we go more towards water or more towards dry sand were people sit? Any other tips? Thanks.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
R

rakoom2002

Tenderfoot
Mar 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sorry for the poor spelling. My dumb ass tablet won't let me go back and correct.

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would recommend getting a detector designed for the water. Until then, stick to the dry sand. Yes, there is a lot of trash to dig but you will eventually dig something nice.

Beach Papa

Apr 25, 2012
East Coast
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tiger Shark VLF
Whites Dual Field PI
CTX 3030
Aquasound (custom made)
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting