gold flakes

Bobadilla

Sep 25, 2006
Dominican Republic
Hello,

I work as a marine archaeologist in the Caribbean and I have been a member of this Forum for six years already, but my prime interest have been always old shipwrecks so far. Nevertheless, eager for any legend speaking about gold, I heard about the occassional finds of gold in the mountain rivers and creeks of the island. So I went there with a local friend to see if we find something. I must say that I know nothing about the prospecting, just what I heard and saw in the movies. We had only some plastic plates and our eyes, it was our whole prospector's equipment we brought, together with good mood and nice weather. What a surprise when after about twenty minutes we found in a pocket of mountain creek small flakes, about one milimeters in diameter, shining really like gold. In my naivity I was expecting some solid, though small pieces but this one could be well seen only under the amplifying glass. From one side it was shining and it was bright yellow but from the other site it was black. Sometimes we found a small piece of river rock, with small flakes incrusted in it. Now, my question to you, experienced prospectors - is it really gold what we found or just something else? We found about 12 of these very small flakes on that day. Later I tried to find out on my digital scale how heavy it was, but alltogether it was not even 0.01 gram......
Thanks for your replies!

Regards,
Lobo

Upvote 0

freddy williams

Oct 9, 2010
Alabama/ Ohio
Detector(s) used
GTI-2500, Whites V3, xplorer XS Cortes & XLT Cibola Tesoro Tiger shark Now using a Xterra 705, Ace 350...
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
the last time I found gold in my sluice it was sorta blackish in color but a good acid wash made it shine right back up the blackish is just a sediment on your gold Congrats and HH....

Eureka

Greenie
Apr 23, 2012
Greensboro NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting