Gold Prospecting book recommendations

Campngolf

Feb 4, 2014
NorCal
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm a visual-type learner so I need to get my hands on something or watch someone skilled to best learn most things. Saying that, I also believe that book learnin' has its place for gaining knowledge.

I just finished my first gold book, "Underwater Sniping for Gold" by Sam Radding & Jim Garlock. Great book and learned a ton. It's particularly good because if covers most of the areas I'll be hitting so it's extra relevant.

So now I'm ready for book #2 and looking for a few books I should add to my reading list. I think "Fists Full of Gold" by Chris Ralph will be near the top but what others should I be looking for? I'll be looking for gold in the CA mother lode and am a total newb. Any recommendations greatly appreciated.

Camp

Upvote 0

midnightmoon

Mar 8, 2008
Los Angeles, California
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug Pro
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello Campngolf.

Underwater Sniping for Gold is a good one! My suggestion for next up would be "Fists Full of Gold" ... and I see you are onto that one already.

How about treating yourself to a subscription to ICMJ -- prospecting and mining journal. I ordered the print (cause I like magazines in my hands -- to read backwards or something like that :dontknow:). I tossed in the digital for just $4 more. Like $35 for both. Anyhow, Chris Ralph writes alot of articles for ICMJ. Ray Mills and Steve Herschbach also write for ICMJ -- they also post here on the boards. Great guys, great stuff.

One book I enjoyed is not a 'how to', but more of a 'how we did', "Bacon and Beans From a Goldpan". True story from a depression era couple who lived the life for 4 years straight. Their home was partially canvas and why they did not get eaten by bears, I will never know. The book is out of print but frequently on Amazon -- got my copy for $10. last year.

I'm sure others will be by shortly to add to your list.

rodoconnor

Bronze Member