Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Acid & stone for me. Works well.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I use nitric acid and various testing needles in different karats. Thou the test kit Max uses is safer and does the other metals. :coffee2:

gravediggermax-vabeachva

Bronze Member
Nov 24, 2005
va beach, va
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
se pro, excal. II, ctx 3030
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
sandman / goldfever

since i am a rookie gold tester..........i just got my kit 10 days ago.

explain the needles and purpose......please

should i get them?

thanks

Bobbie

Nov 7, 2005
Connecticut and SW Florida
Detector(s) used
2 Minelab Excal 1000, Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Electronic, unless you spend mega bucks, is a waste of money. The acid you have to use is only good for a couple of months and then needs replacing. Go with the acid and stone.......less expensive

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Max, the needles have a sample of gold on the tip in various Kts. which you draw the line on the stone along side the scratch from your "ring." You then use a line of Nitric acid across both lines to try to match them up with both dissolving at the same time instead of using the different test bottles. I don't think you need the needles too, but might be nice as a back up. However you have to be EXTREMELY CAREFUL WITH THE NITRIC ACID as it can eat your skin.