Good newbi detectors?

W

wq2211

Hi guys this is my first time posting here although I've been reading here for a couple weeks. I'm interested in starting the hobby but I am just a kid and strapped for cash so I'm looking for the most bang for my buck. I live in central Illinois and I am interested in coin, jewelry and maybe cache hunting. I've been reading rewiews and it seems like I can't get anything very good but I would like to get the best possible. Some detectors like mp3 pro, treasure ace 100, whites classic I are well priced but probably don't perform well. Does anyone have any experience with one of these machines? Also I'm looking at a whites classic ID thats used, anyone have any comments regarding the ID? I would really appreciate it if you guys pointed me into the right direction and I really can't spend over $250. Thanks for the help.

---Will

Upvote 0
OP
OP
W

wq2211

Also, what do you guys think about the treasure ace 300 and the detectors from radio shack?

Siegfried Schlagrule

Bronze Member
Mar 19, 2003
Indiana
Detector(s) used
All types of BFOs owned. Especially want White's Arrow; White's Oremaster; Exanimo Spartan Little Monster; Garrett contract Little Monster.
You won't get any replies until you clear out your private message box. Messages are being bounced back to the sender as of saturday 6 november. exanimo, ss

OP
OP
W

wq2211

Oops... Thanks for telling me. Good hunting.

---Will

Gribnitz

Aug 1, 2004
I have the Treasure Ace 300, which is the sup'd up version of the 100 and 200. I have found a lot of clad with it, but it just won't go very deep at all. Maybe 4 inches tops and that may be pushing it. I would steer clear from these models because I don't think you will be happy with what you get. Maybe I got a bum model, but it won't see coins in my test garden at six inches.