Green as grass

Moonrover

Jul 17, 2012
Cambridge, MA
Primary Interest:
Other
Just received an AT Pro and a few extras this week. I'm a total newbie to metal detecting, so naturally I poured over the instruction manual and videos like a kid cramming for finals. Yesterday I tried out the knowledge in our back yard. Didn't use the headphones because there is no concern around here about bothering the neighbors. The backyard is loaded with "signals" which sort of overpowered my imagination. After a while, I realized most signals up close to the house are 1" roofing nails. To take a break from all the screaming, I walked way out near a wooded area. Finally, a signal with a clear and repeatable 92 on the scale. When it came out of the hole, I was disappointed because it looked like a long shard of aluminum. When I got back to the house and washed the crud off of it, then I realized it was (or had been) the handle and back for a Victorian hairbrush. My best guess is that it is silver. No way to determine what level of purity it is, but being my first find (other than a couple of pounds of roofing nails), I will just keep the "relic" as proof of my metal detecting prowess.

Now I'm energized enough to sweep the entire yard front, sides and back. Oh, I did learn the hard way about metal scraps near utility poles. Linemen must snip off stray copper and aluminum wire ends with evil glee.

Once I acquire the "trained ear" for various signal sounds and of course properly notch out trash signals, I may be able to dig less and find more. By the way, our cat thinks the detector sounds are cool. He is especially fond of the Pro-Pointer and sniffing in the dirt. It never hurts to "cat scan" a digging just to be sure nothing is missed.

Last edited:

norbyx

Jun 3, 2012
San Jose
Detector(s) used
Actual: Whites MXT All Pro, M6 and Tesoro Sand Shark