grey dirt?

kemosabi

Greenie
Mar 15, 2013
Im new to panning. I have recently been digging a hole in a dry creek bed. I have dug thru about 1 foot of sand and 3 feet of thick grey dirt. After that I hit a layer hard packed gravel with a rust color dirt. But all I am panning out is a fine powder gold.
I just bought a gold n sand hand dregde. Is it worth filling the hole with water and sucking it?
Any advice?

Upvote 0

Oldyoungtimer

Feb 20, 2013
Have you found any bigger flakes or pieces of gold to help you identify it in the pan? The only reason I'm saying this is because i thought i was finding powder gold when i first started panning. Turned out it want gold at all lol. Is the creek known to have gold in it? Before you go excavating the creek bed i would check the area to make sure your investing your time wisely. I have only been doing this since last October. But i have spent a few hundred hours on the creek and panned about a thousand pans. If you know there is gold in the creek then by all means dig away. Sounds like your highly motivated to get after it! Good luck.

OP
OP
K

kemosabi

Greenie
Mar 15, 2013
Im not really sure if the creek is gold baring. This is the first my first attempt at finding a little gold. Could the powder that I was assuming was good be mica? There is also about 1 tablespoon of black sand in a 14 inch pan after I pan it down. Is that a good thing?

Oldyoungtimer

Feb 20, 2013