Grinding stone?

IDignails

Greenie
Apr 14, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all! My name is Ben, I’m new to this forum. I do some metal detecting and this weekend I was searching an old creek bed. I found this stone and would love to be able to find out exactly what it is. Doing a quick google search I found grinding stones resembling this but how do I know for sure and how could I tell how old it is? Any help is greatly appreciated!!! Thanks! IMG_9428.jpg IMG_9429.jpg IMG_9436.jpg IMG_9437.jpg IMG_9438.jpg

Upvote 0

Kray Gelder

Gold Member
Feb 24, 2017
Georgetown, SC
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello Ben. I'm no expert. There are some experienced experts on metates and manos here, who may be along to help. Good luck.

Jon Stewart

Bronze Member
Jan 11, 2011
I have several metates and none of them have a sharp edge around the grinding area like the edge on that oval shaped area. I do have two metates that have been used on both sides. They wore one side out and then used the other side which may be the case with the rock that you have. it is interesting.

dognose

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2009
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70
That is an interesting item. What part of the country are you in?

It looks like granite, can you determine the type of stone it is?

I agree with Jon Stewart that the sharp edge is unusual. I have found a few manos in Indiana and they are different is design, more plain.

Its possible being in a creek, if made of harder granite or other stone, a softer material weathered out. Like a concretion or other fossil mineral.

sandchip

Silver Member
Oct 29, 2010
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Bizarre. I'd also like to know what type of material it is.

quito

Silver Member
Mar 31, 2008
south dakota
Detector(s) used
good eyes