GTI 2500 user here--what am I missing by NOT using headphones?

morglan

Greenie
Apr 19, 2011
I've been detecting for 4 or 5 years now, most of that time with a GTI 2500. Thing is, I've never used headphones. I like to detect in secluded areas by myself, and tend to be a bit paranoid about listening to my surroundings, so I've never even been tempted to use headphones.

Am I missing signals? Pretty sure my hearing is fine, is there really a need for headphones?

Kodiak43351

Bronze Member
May 6, 2013
NW Ohio
Detector(s) used
At Max,Xp deus,At pro, At gold, pro pointer, ace 350 bounty hunter. Lesche hand and t handle digging tools, Sask kustom digger, Garrett edge digger and Garrett retriever, Garrett classifier made into
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If hearing is good prob not missing much. Headphones are great when you are at a louder area. I use headphones most of the time but can hear my detector fine without them.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There is no real need if you are off by yourself. Around parks where there are kids, the beeps attract them to see what all the noise is about. The beeps also attract dogs but they don't ask questions.

bigfoot1

Silver Member
Nov 1, 2011
so.cal.mtns.
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
garrett,minelab,fisher,,,atp current weapon of choice
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I only use mine when close to road or other noise,or when wind is cold on my ears.I hunt in forest with toothy/clawy critters....need to hear them if I can.you prolly missin nothin

NIBBLER

Apr 19, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting