happy I found this website:

hunterken

Jun 4, 2009
Hello everybody: my name is Ken, I'm 61, I live in Duluth, Mn. I am new at MDing, last Nov. I purchased a dfx-300 I brought it to Cocoa Beach, Florida. with me for Jan.&Feb. used it maybe 10 or 12 times for 1hr. each time.I found $2.60 all modern money,some pieces of aluminum & two big lead fishing sinkers. I had a lot of fun finding these things!!Back in Duluth, it's been really cold I did get out a few times and I find modern money every time.I need to find some place to search that might have old silver coins! anyway this metal detecting has got me hooked!!! more fun than the antique road show.....

Likely Guy

Ken, I'm no expert at MD'ing, but allow me to be the first to welcome you to this forum.

From what I gather here, the three R's are, 'Research', 'Research', 'Research'.

A few days in the county court house, land office, Sanborn website, etc. and you'll be an expert too.

And yeah, Antique Road Show... *spitting sound*. :sleepy2:

Blacksheep

Bronze Member
Dec 25, 2007
Wisconsin
Welcome to TNET Ken, you will never get bored browsing through the many wonderful threads
here. Good luck and hope to see some of your finds soon! :thumbsup:

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet Ken! I am a hobbyist instead of a real treasure hunter and I enjoy finding just about anything unusual or old. Old to me means back to the WWII era. Silver coins are getting harder and harder to find. Your best bet right now is probably older neighborhoods around older houses. Always ask permission, fill your holes and be mindful of others property and you will do fine. I am nearing 65 and took up the chase about 4 years ago and I am an addict now. It doesnt take long to get hooked. Be sure to post your finds and check in with us often. Good luck! Monty

UncleVinnys

Bronze Member
Dec 27, 2007
Hancock Street, Folsom, CA
Detector(s) used