Harassed by the Police tonight...

FooserPaul

May 9, 2008
Somewhere in CT
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Hello all...

I was detecting in the front of a school tonight.. a school I've been hunting for 2 years and have 20-25 pieces of silver from... I was about to call it and a white car stops and a man starts waving for me to come here... I took off my headphones and asked him what he wanted... He came around the car and was still motioning for me to come to him, but I stood where I was... then from the left... a town police car stops and 2 uniformed policeman walk over as he was approaching me...

They asked me what I was doing... As much as I wanted to say something smart... I calmly explain that I am metal detecting, and they asked for clarity... They asked me for my written permission from the school superintendent or the board of education to be digging up their property... I explain that I was not digging up their property and explain how a target is recovered... I told them I've been doing this for years at this school. There are not rules concerning metal detecting. They explain that they had the right to ensure that the grounds were safe for children and a child could possible trip and fall from what I am doing and they would be liable as would I if they did not doing something about it... They asked me to leave and obtain written permission to come back... I explained that I would leave and just stick to the city parks... and they told me that I would need written permission to detect there as well... I asked why I needed permission to do something there were no rules for... It was a no win no win no win spot to be in...They never asked for my name or to see ID... Just said I should move on and not come back without written permission...

Ignorance about detecting is frustrating....

I hope everyone had a better night than I...

Paul

Dano Sverige

Silver Member
Aug 10, 2009
SWEDEN
Detector(s) used