Mar 25, 2013
Jenison, Mi
Detector(s) used
AT PRO, Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Harper's Ferry, West Virginia Trip

Hi All,

I am fairly new to metal detecting, and am looking for any information that can make a 3 day trip to Harper's Ferry successful and enjoyable. Here's a little information on the upcoming trip. First of all, I have known for a few weeks that my gf wanted to visit West Va to see the land that her grandfather owned (her parents are the current owners). What I did not know was that the land was very near Harper's Ferry. I have a degree in History (Teaching), so when I found out where we were going I was definitely excited. The land is near the junction of WV 9 and Hostler Rd in Jefferson county. I think they own roughly 80 acres. Unfortunately, a handful of years back the government made them sell some of their land for use in a road building/expansion project. Prior to that, her family owned about twice as much land and it butted up against the Shenandoah River.
Anyway, I will be taking my 15 yr old son and he's excited about metal detecting there too. My goal is to make this a fun trip for him by finding some old/interesting finds, and leaving the land as undisturbed as possible. I have done some lite research via the internet, but I figured that asking for information on Tnet would be a smart move. For instance, I have no idea if there are parks or public places in the area that are open to metal detecting. Normally I would assume as much; however, I live in an area of Michigan where you are not going to be accidentally digging historically significant artifacts.
Sorry for the long post...any insight or local information would be truly appreciated.
Thanks and HH!

Upvote 0

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
reading_01.gif
You might consider browsing Sub-Forums: West Virginia for information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.)...

CoilyGirl