Have silver halves dried up in PA

Carlj

Jan 8, 2005
I have been CRHing in SE PA since 2012. Last May (2023) I saw a sudden
drop off in silver per box. In fact, I went 20 boxes with nothing. The average
prior to that for that bank pickup was about 45% of the boxes had silver
and average silver per box was about 2. Prior to this sudden drop off on May of 23
I had six months of boxes (starting in Nov. 22) that had hand written on them
in magic marker "NO SILVER", even though I was still continuing to get silver
in the boxes up until May of 23.

I have always had at least two separate streams from two different
carriers (GARDA, LOOMIS, etc.) Two of my other streams went 0-13 and 0-17
late last year as well. During this time I also noticed that I was seeing
nothing else out of the ordinary (British pennies, halves from Mexico, Panama,
etc. magician halves, painted halves...)

MY QUESTION IS: Has anyone else, especially in the PA region, experienced a
similar abrupt drop off?? It is statically an anomaly - based on 13 years
of hunting, some years up to 5 boxes a week.

I did see a post from about a year ago (not on this forum) from a man who
supposedly worked in a coin wrapping facility who stated that there was
new software to take out 'damaged coins' which was pulling out 'everything'
out of the ordinary - including silver. I was wondering if that was why my boxes
started being marked 'No Silver'- maybe a little prematurely?

Upvote 1

Avago

Jun 26, 2014
The 2nd State
Primary Interest:
Other
and average silver per box was about 2. Prior to this sudden drop off on May of 23

out of the ordinary - including silver. I was wondering if that was why my boxes
Yes. I was getting the exact same boxes as you in NEPA - "No Silver" in black Sharpie, even though I would find some silver scraps in them once in a while.