Having No Luck

annie11

Tenderfoot
Jul 8, 2007
Central Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Loaner for now. Ace 250 Soon!
I am new to this and I am not having any luck. I am waiting on my Ace 250 but for the time being I am using a friends Bounty Hunter Quick Silver. I have a couple questions.

1. Is the Bounty Hunter Quick Silver a poor detector compared to Acer 250?
2. Should you always set the depth finder at the deepest setting to really locate items of real interest?
3. OK - I am almost embarrassed to ask - the detector head has a large circle and a smaller inner circle - which one is the one that picks up the object??
4. With my ace 250 - should I purchase the additional head?

I went to a ball field, playground and old abandoned grammar school and a park. To date - I have found:

Pull tabs
50 cents (nothing old
2 old screws
1 dime
beer can
1 metal punch out (fuse box?)

I am about 1 hour from a beach here in CT - so I am looking forward to checking it out this weekend.

Can anyone offer some advice on technique and/or spots to hunt?

I love checking out your finds - I would be happy to find anything - even a coin that is pre 1980 :D

Thanks!

Annie

Stormtrooper154

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2006
Portland, OR
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE
Dont get to worried about it! You are not doing anything wrong. I have about $1800 invested in my detector and I dug one nickel from 1989 today LOL. Of course, I searching for deep masked targets in a hunted out park...I dug like 10 really deep nails. Some days are good, some are bad. Just enjoy the time you are out there!

ericwt

Feb 8, 2004
The Ace 250 is a fine beginner detector. It would be hard to do better at the price they sell it for.

I am not a Bounty Hunter fan. But there are others here that have done quite well with them.

I imagine you will do quite well with the Ace. I have heard wonderful things about the Ace 250.