Heavy metal ball found about 50 years ago

VickiZ

Tenderfoot
Nov 22, 2021
Hello,
I’m a newbie from Pennsylvania. I live on an farm that was settled in late 1700’s to early 1800’s in Northumberland county. For the past (almost) 50 years I’ve found old metal objects, glass bottles, and numerous other things on the property which I now reside at and I’m curious as to what some of it is. I’m looking forward to seeing what other people posted. What really has me guessing is I found a ‘heavy metal ball’ after my Father plowed a field in front of a cabin/original homestead, probably 40 years ago. I put my ball in the barn and forgot about it but recently, I’ve clean out the barn and I’ve taken another look at it- I’m wondering if I found a cannonball.
Not sure if a cannonball or a metal ball is considered a treasure but I’ve hoarded it this long, it has my interest. I’m hoping someone can help me out, I’ll gladly post pictures and dimensions of my find, if welcomed and wanted.

Thank you
-Vicki

Last edited:

DizzyDigger

Gold Member
Dec 9, 2012
Concrete, WA
Detector(s) used
Nokta FoRs Gold, a Gold Cube, 2 Keene Sluices and Lord only knows how many pans....not to mention a load of other gear my wife still doesn't know about!
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome to the site Vicki...:hello:

There are members here that are specialized in cannonballs, and many
other types of goodies the early American settlers left behind.

Usually best to start a new thread (maybe in the "What is It" forum)
about the cannonball. Good pics taken in natural light are best, and
please include as accurate of dimensions as possible.

OP
OP
VickiZ

VickiZ

Tenderfoot
Nov 22, 2021
Welcome to the site Vicki...:hello:

There are members here that are specialized in cannonballs, and many
other types of goodies the early American settlers left behind.

Usually best to start a new thread (maybe in the "What is It" forum)
about the cannonball. Good pics taken in natural light are best, and