Hello good fossil folks... and ID help

Y

ya old fossil

Hello everyone, I am new to fossils and new to the forum.

I found some fossil rich rocks, but the fossils so far are all very small. I have found a few sharks teeth, and some snails. All smaller than a dime. I have also run into a few things that I do not recognize. I am hoping one of you experianced fossil hunters could help me ID them, or at least help direct me where to start my research.

Whatzit?
bublstash.JPG

Also, any advice how to remove some of these fragile teeth from a limestone/silicon matrix?

fossis

Gold Member
Jan 5, 2007
eastern Oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Whites Prizm 11 & White's XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Treasure-Net,
I would suggest a good fossil book for starters, & if you
can use a chisel & hammer to work the matrix down smaller
you can at least, get some specimens to keep,
And the small fossils may pop out, I often chisel out
petrified wood from the host stone, by hitting close to the
wood.

HH, Fossis................

Tricia

Mar 5, 2007
Is there any way to put your items on a solid colored background and retake the photos? It's hard to distinguish characteristics from your photos as they are.

Also, what area are you finding your items in? Somewhere in the back of my mind I seem to remember something about some very small mammal fossils being found that rekindled the dinosaur timeline debate.

OP
OP
Y

ya old fossil

I found these in Hot Springs county, AR. From what I understand, the area was all ocean when these fossils were living.

These are pretty small items, The one on the dime I dug out of the matrix. I will try to retake the pictures tonight. I used the dime to convay size. The object looks like a mini bubble with a mustache. I Suspect it is a fish tooth from a herbavore or shellcracker.

The other object is still in the matrix, so I can't really change the background. It is so small and fragile, I am afraid to try to dig it out.

old fossil

OP