Help a beginner chose a MD please!

chip_gilkey

Tenderfoot
Jun 10, 2010
Hi im new to the hobby of metal detecting, i have been using a bounty hunter pioneer 101 and decided its time to upgrade as it does the job but can be a little frustrating at times.

I have done some research and ive narrowed down what detector i want to 3 choices: The White Coinmaster, Garrett 250, and the Fisher F2. Im thinking its down to the Coinmaster or F2, with the F2 in the slight lead but i want expert advice.

Im mainly interested in finding coins (hopefully older ones) and gold in the form of jewelry and coins. Depth is important to me, i dont want to miss out on stuff 7 or 8 inches deep. as far as discrimination goes, ive heard that unless you have over 100 "notches" you wont want to use it as it can block out gold. As long as i have the option to block out annoying iron nails (which i probably wont even do that) ill be happy.

Thank you for any and all advice you can give me on these machines, your helping a beginner get his foot in the door.

Upvote 0

comfortablynumb

Sep 8, 2009
NW Missouri
Personally, I went with the Garrett Ace 250 after using a BH4. Really enjoy it. No manual balancing required.

I have mine set to notch out iron, pull tabs & zincolns, and it does the job!!! If I get a signal now, it's worth digging.

gambler13

May 27, 2010
Detector(s) used
MXT Pro, Xterra 705